March – The Quest for Splits

OK, so I gave a hint in the last post that this month’s quest was being motivated by a couple of pole competitions I have coming up at the end of the month. I love pole dancing, and I am half decent at the ‘pole’ bit of it it, I’m reasonably strong and happy to have a go at some of the scarier tricks that involve throwing yourself around the pole or towards the floor (I love drops!). However, what I am NOT is flexible, and this makes the ‘dancing’ bit quite awkward. My legs just don’t straighten to form those beautiful lines that the judges are looking for.

Now, I don’t expect to manage splits in 30 days (that would be nice, but I don’t know how feasible it is really) but what I’m hoping is that by the time the competitions roll round (25th and 26th) I’ll be a bit bendier in the legs and hips so I look at least a little bit more graceful!

How am I going to achieve this? Well the lovely Cassey over at Blogilates (seriously, check out her youtube videos, most enthusiastic coach ever!) has provided a 30 day Jouney to Splits that I am going to use as my foundation. So this is the MINIMUM I expect to do every day – the first 5 stretches and then the stretch for whichever day of the challenge I’m on. If possible I’ll do a little more, try to do a little in the morning and a little in the evening, and see where that gets me.

In terms of progress, here’s some pics of where I’m at at the moment (this is after stretching today):

Front split:

win_20170302_13_00_40_pro

Straddle:

win_20170302_13_01_51_pro

So as you can see, I have a long way to go! But I’m going to try and see how far I can get. The goal is just to stretch every day for the whole month, if that gets me my splits I’ll be a very happy girl, if it just gets me a little bit more grace and bendiness in my dancing, that’s still a pretty good result in my books!

Leave a Reply

